You: The Difference Between Another Day and Another Tragedy

I woke up this morning to news of a shooting at the school in my hometown, NAU. Not a mass shooting or the type of shooting you would expect when you hear “school shooting”: it would appear that a gun was used to resolve a conflict between two groups of people.

I was relieved when I read that it was not someone on campus with the intent to kill and injure the masses. But I also then imagined what it would be like if WPI, my alma mater, were to one morning wake up to news that there had been a conflict and 4 people were shot and one had died. The campus would be stunned and would certainly suffer some paralysis at the news. My mind then asked a question:

 “Where are the student leaders?”

Most of these incidences- mass shootings, fights, suicides, etc- are discussed beforehand by those planning them. I know it this is not always the case, but if you listen hard enough and pay attention to those who are usually ignored, you will see the warning signs much of the time. Instead of putting your head down when the conversation goes to these uncomfortable places, lift your head, open your eyes, observe, and question. Pay attention to the signs and report concerns to others and to the authorities. Together, the student body is a powerful thing. Support each other and protect each other. Take action. Step up. Don’t wait and assume someone else will take care of it.

But tragically, the warnings fall on deaf ears or sometimes are not there and the campus suffers a blow like Virginia Tech, like UCC in Oregon, or like NAU. While VT and UCC were much more severe and larger scale incidents, in all these cases, the campus goes through a recovery process and in all cases, again the student leaders must step up to the plate. I can’t imagine being involved in a situation like this, big or small. I know Flagstaff is a loving supportive community and together they will begin the healing process.

I was fortunate to not have experienced anything like this in my time as a student leader at WPI. The WPI campus has a great group of student leaders through their RA’s, CA’s, SSN, and Greek Life. I hope the community continues to recognize these leaders and work to train them to their fullest potential. I also hope they stress that a student doesn’t have to be in a leadership position to make a difference. Everyone plays a role in keeping the campus and the student body safe. And I hope other schools do the same so these tragedies can be prevented.

You never know the impact you could have whether it’s by asking someone genuinely if they’re okay, or by reporting something concerning you’ve observed. Share this message with others and take care to pay attention to those around you. You can make a difference. You can be the difference.

 

 

 

Leave a comment